Skip to content
SUBSCRIBE TO NEWSLETTER (912) 927-7272 11900 Abercorn Expressway, Savannah, GA 31419

Scouting’s advancement program remains structured yet flexible. Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and the steps to overcome them through the rank advancement method. Each Scout plans his or her advancement and progresses as challenges are met.

Rank advancement is one method used by Scout leaders to help boys and girls fulfill the aims of Scouting: character development, citizenship training, and mental and physical fitness.

Rank Advancement

After being awarded the Scout badge by completing the joining requirements and participating in a Scoutmaster conference, there are six ranks that are earned sequentially: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle. Once the Scout completes the skills, participation, and leadership requirements for each subsequent rank, the Scout participates in a Scoutmaster conference and a board of review. At a board of review, a Scout meets with an adult panel in an informal setting, presents their completion of requirements, and answers questions.

Merit Badges

Scouting offers over 130 merit badge opportunities to learn new skills, ranging from outdoor-oriented endeavors like camping to science and technology exploration through robotics. With exposure to a uniquely hands-on learning experience, Scouts unlock a world of discovery around them.

New Eagle Merit Badge – Citizenship in Society

The new Citizenship in Society merit badge encourages Scouts to explore information on diversity, equity, inclusion, and ethical leadership, and learn why these qualities are important in society and in Scouting. The new merit badge is designed to help Scouts learn about the different identities and characteristics we each possess, understand different perspectives and experiences, and promote good citizenship in society.

For Resources:

Citizenship in Society Fact Sheet

Citizenship in Society Merit Badge Requirements

Religious Awards

Each of 34 major religions has organized an Emblem program that adherents can pursue to strengthen their faith.


Check out where to put ll your patches on your uniform.