Skip to content
SUBSCRIBE TO NEWSLETTER (912) 927-7272 11900 Abercorn Expressway, Savannah, GA 31419

Eagle Award Requirements


The rank of Eagle Scout is the highest and most prestigious achievement a Scout can achieve. Highly respected, the title of Eagle Scout carries with it special significance not only in Scouting but also in school, business, and the community. To attain the Eagle rank, a Scout must earn at least 21 merit badges, fulfill leadership roles and display outdoor skills, demonstrate by example the Scout Oath and Law, and complete a comprehensive service project in the community.

Progress through the Scout ranks in the following order:

  • Scout
  • Tenderfoot
  • Second Class
  • First Class
  • Star
  • Life
  • Eagle

Earn 21 merit badges, including:

  • First Aid
  • Citizenship in the Community
  • Citizenship in the Nation
  • Citizenship in the World
  • Citizenship in Society
  • Communication
  • Cooking
  • Personal Fitness
  • Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving
  • Environmental Science OR Sustainability
  • Personal Management
  • Cycling, Hiking OR Swimming
  • Camping
  • Family Life

While a Life Scout, a youth must also:

  • Serve at least six months in a troop leadership position
  • Plan, develop and lead a service project for either a school, community or religious organization
  • Demonstrate and live by the Scout Oath and Law
  • Participate in a Scoutmaster Conference
  • Successfully complete an Eagle Scout Board of Review

Helpful Forms: